“Beware because the winds of change they blow, and everything must go…”-The Foreign Exchange

Our celestial presence on this earth are numbered and calculated. Will I chant this to myself everyday, and weigh every action and choice as if it were my last? I know that I should but this is easier said than done. As one of my favorite groups explains the winds of change are blowing. My chaotic relationship with change goes somewhat like this: I love change (weather, new music, new clothes, hairstyles, nail polish etc), but in terms of relationships with others, reminiscing on fond memories I am rather immovable when it comes to that. I love my family  all of our arguing, and hurtful words thrown at each other I would rather this change. But all the family vacations, birthday dinners, and unconventional holiday traditions should never change. Lately, however it seems as if we are all cars speeding down a multi-lane highway towards different destinations, with no regard to the other cars on the road. With this mentality it is only evident that eventually we’ll all split down different exits–or crash into each other. Years ago however we would check our blind spots to ensure we all were okay, now we switch lanes, change life careers and disrespect each other without looking both ways. How can this change? How can we get back to one solid, unified, orderly “lane”. Only through the power of prayer. I know that regardless of how far it seems we stray from each other and moreover from Christ–the one thing that remains unchanged is the love of Christ. My prayer goes as such:

“Dear Lord,

You’ve blessed me with a special and loving family. As of now we feel disconnected from you and from each other. I pray that you remove all barriers and obstacles keeping us from each other and unite us under your love and your words. I ask that you forgive us for forsaking each other and acting selfishlessly. I praise you for all that you’ve blessed us with and I pray that you strengthen us individually, and as a family. We will bless your name forever more.

Your Humble Servant,

Mariah

I realize that one day everything indeed must go. I hope that before that day I will be able to over come all my inner and external struggles and live in the heights of the human experience and fly to the mountains of ecstasy.

In Peace,

Reaux

One Lane Highway

Leave a Reply

