“If you lose me, I must be saved.”- Madeleine Peyroux

The idea of salvation from both Christ and from humanity is one of the hundreds of thousands of thoughts that run through my mind each day. Reflecting on my many errors, wrong paths taken, and disobedience–I wonder if I’m worth saving. I wonder why when at times I have no strength to save myself or lift my achy, weak, down-trodden spirits, how one word from the Lord has the ability to erase all my negative thoughts. Alternatively, how those words make me think “Will I ever move from this place?” and “Will I ever stop making the same mistakes?” And at what costs will I overcome all my evils, and temptations and how will that feel. The stress of weighing all my decisions, compounded with the constant questioning “Well look at what they’re doing, do they feel this bad?” seems never-ending, but I know it is not warranted. In terms of losing my own humanity, and whether or not they can to an extent “save me”, seems close to home also.  The human experience has allowed me to experience a range of emotions from extreme euphoria, to the depths and the abysses of my at times eerily dark, psyche. It was a human who physically lifted me from the ground, as a I felt my soul sinking into the earth. But, it was the word of God, that reminded me that this state was not permanent. So goes my favorite phrase “Trust me dear, it’s only temporary”. Hopefully, as I dive into the “blog-osphere”, I’ll get better at this and learn the do’s and don’ts. But, as for now accept this sincere, severely disorganized blog post.

Exodus 15:2 “The LORD is my strength and my song, and he is become my salvation: he is my God, and I will prepare him an habitation; my father’s God, and I will exalt him.”

In Peace,

Reaux

Leave a Reply

